The Lunar Chronicles part 2: Scarlet

WP_20140626_002

This entry I’ll be reviewing the second book in The Lunar Chronicles Scarlet.  This novel actually took me by surprise a little. Rather than directly continuing Cinder’s story the book primarily focuses on the character Scarlet and her search for her grandmother with a stranger named Wolf.

Spoilers from this point on. You have been warned.

I will admit this book wasn’t as good to me as the previous one because I wanted a direct continuation of Cinder’s story and didn’t care for a science fiction adaption of Little Red Riding Hood to be used to continue the story. I quickly got over it upon discovering parts of the story would be devoted to Cinder. Still I wasn’t fully pleased with the main protagonist shoved aside to co-protagonist.

Most of the characters from Cinder (her stepmother and step sister) have been shoved aside to minor characters which is probably for the better since they don’t serve a purpose in the plot anymore. King Kai (no not that one lol) continues to be a main character and we’re also introduced Thorne, a ‘captain’ who helps break Cinder out of her captivity. I actually like Thorne alot, not that I hate Scarlet or Wolf, but Thorne is just more likeable.

In terms of story it flowed along very smoothly despite being, I was hoping Cinder and Scarlet would meet up by the middle of the book. Cinder literally spends half the book twiddling her thumbs in space.

I will admit I did like Scarlet’s side of the story, she’s empathetic towards all people and is one of the few people among Earth and the Moon who doesn’t discriminate against cyborgs. She dearly loves her grandmother because she learned her ways from her grandmother who has been kidnapped.

Sadly Scarlet does not get a happy ending, sure she gets a man to love, but she lost her grandmother. It’s a little disturbing how she gets over her grandmother being killed just because Wolf was there.

THe last part of the book leads up to a cliffhanger (again) that will be continued in Cress. I personally cannot wait to read it and finish the Lunar Chronicles. Yes I’m aware of the prequel.

There will be more to talk about 🙂

Leave a Reply

