#leelahalcorn

Tonight, well this morning we’re doing something different.
I read today/last night that the teenager Leela Halcorn chose to taker her life on December 22 at the age of seventeen. Leela was like a small percentage of the world where she was born different. She was born in the body of a boy. Leela came out to her mother as a transgender and, sadly, her mother said it was impossible because “God doesn’t make mistakes”.
It’s devastating to hear statements like that, even more devastating to know that Leela’s family chose to dishonor her and call her Joshua. What hurts the most is that Leela, though disowned by her family, wasn’t too far from turning 18. I know life can be rougher living alone at 18 with barely anything, but it is freedom as an adult.
I think it affects me the most because I did have a friend who committed suicide when I was 21.Even though I hid my hurt from my friends and family, it was one of the most painful things to live through. I cried over it for a full year, I cried over the knowledge that I saw the signs of it and did nothing to prevent it.
I wish someone could have told Leela that there are people out there who could take her in, who would love her unconditionally, that would support her true self. I wish someone could have reminded her that if she could just wait until eighteen she would be able to be herself.
Even though I am catholic, I don’t believe people who commit suicide go to hell. It’s a selfish decision I agree, but they suffer too. They need help and love.
So please, do pray for her and if you see someone who is in her situation, or anyone at all hurting, approach them. Smile at them. Love them. Please.

Leave a Reply

