Getting Hugged by Your Old Bully

Today was just like every uneventful friday. Well aside from it being the friday before the start of a new school term. I cleaned a little, went to a meeting concerning an upcoming event for a church group I volunteer with, played with my dog, and worked on a painting that I’m giving as a gift.
My parents decided to invite me to IHOP and I decided to tag along. For almost a year now a waitress I know from highschool has been working there. The thing is, she is a very good waitress and is always considerate of the customers and is friendly towards my family in particular.
What exactly is the big deal about this waitress? She bullied me in highschool. It’s that plain and simple.
It was only for one year, I kept to myself and she made it her life’s mission to bother everyone. Unlike most people in my life who picked on me, I didn’t hold a grudge. I don’t know why I didn’t hold a grudge, I think it’s because I had to deal with peers who treated me worse than she ever did. In junior year she came out as a lesbian. I cheered for her for five minutes and moved on with life.
I figured after graduation I’d never see her again. Then again after graduation I also figured I’d be done with higher education in four to five years (HAH!) Then one fateful tuesday (I know it was tuesday because my friend and I love Half Off Tuesday at the movies and that’s the day we went to Ihop) I ran into her. I realized who she was in five minutes.
She didn’t acknowledge who I was until we were done with our meal. When she did she was very polite about it. She mentioned being around Texas a few years until getting bored with being a nomad and asking her mother if she could move back in.
From that point on I wasn’t sure how to handle the situation; do I stop going to the only Ihop in town? Do I find out her work schedule to avoid her? Do I ask for seating outside of her turf? I decided to just let it all go and continue on with my life. She’s been a very good waitress, she’s met my extended family by chance. They don’t know she once picked on me, I’m not telling them because that’s in the past. The cool thing is she once gave me free hot apple cider.

Leave a Reply

