YouTube Red Review

After installing YouTube music on my phone hoping for convenience to listen to music without having to keep the YouTube app open I accidentally activated a free trial to YouTube Red. Something that wasn’t mentioned for YouTube music commercials was the need to activate the YouTube Red app.

After making sure that I wouldn’t be charged if I didn’t deactivate the account in time I figured I would give it a shot. First let me say that two weeks isn’t really enough time to fully use YouTube Red beyond what was my original intentions of installing YouTube music. I had seen promotional commercials for YouTube Red with Prank Academy as one of it’s main shows. I had brushed it off as “eh” because I have no problem sitting through commercials. Looking at the quality of  content based off of commercials it reminded me of the (now dead) website take180.com where tv shows were made that were usually 180 seconds. Sadly as stated earlier take180 was axed by Disney and as a final nail in the coffin ALL of it’s content has been removed from the internet.

I will say it was a shockingly pleasant experience using YouTube Red; it was just a small relief not to hear any commercials when waiting for a video, and as I stated earlier listening to music without having to keep the app open was great (considering the Sailor Moon Crystal soundtrack is currently not available in the United States for legal purchasing).

I didn’t find too many YouTube Red originals that caught my attention, but I did enjoy Single by 30. I liked that some of these shows were made with YouTubers who already had established named collaborating together.

I did enjoy my YouTube Red experience, and I understand that all their original shows need money to conitnue being supported, however one good show is not enough for me to pay 9.99 a month, in comparison to Netflix, Amazon, and Hulu services where I’m guaranteed I can find what I’m looking for and watch it for 9.99+ a month (at this time I am tight on cash).

I give YouTube Red three and a half stars (because let’s be honest that was a better ratings system than Thumbs up or thumbs down)

Leave a Reply

