Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Review

So many things happening in 2016 you wouldn’t expect; republicans gaining control of the White House, a new Harry Potter book, and hey a new Harry Potter movie! While not exactly a Harry Potter movie, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is JK Rowling’s first ever time writing a screenplay.

I’ll be honest when this movie was announced many things scared me; would it be crappy, how involved would JK Rowling be in this project, is Warner Brothers just doing this for the sake of continuing the Harry Potter franchise? This continued on when a friend of mine pointed out our new protagonist Newt Scamander is very similar to the Eleventh Doctor.

But all my fears were put to rest with great enjoyment of this movie.

Possibility of spoilers, I’m working on doing these without so many spoilers, I am a muggle, sorry I can’t do memory charms.

As stated above when a friend of mine pointed out Newt Scamander looked alot like the Eleventh Doctor I was a little scared that the character was just “the wizard version of Eleventh Doctor” and I was wrong and I’m very happy that I was wrong. While Newt has his moments of being off, he is a mostly quiet and shy character who has a deep love and understanding for magical creatures. I’m guessing that in terms of attire someone at Warner Bros. saw the Eleventh Doctor and just liked the look and JK Rowling was smart enough to avoid cloning the Time Lord.

While I did enjoy the movie I couldn’t help but feel annoyed that the conflict kept jumping around between Macusa trying to keep the wizarding world completely separated from the NoMaj world, to Newt trying to reclaim his escaped beasts, to The New Salem Philanthropic group wanting to expose and hunt down wizards and witches (for background information concerning Macusa, TNSP and more please visit pottermore.com) , once Newt reclaims his friends the films focuses and the Macusa/TNSP conflict.

I really liked the characters featured in the film and loved the romance between Jacob Kowalski and Queenie Goldstein and I truly hope both characters do get married. And yes, of course the Beasts were amazing and beautiful to look at and it was so much fun pointing things out with a friend of mine who had read the original Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them textbook.

I really loved Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them and look forward to reading the screenplay and cosplaying as Newt Scamander. I give Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them, four out of five Niffler’s.

P.S.-I knew Johnny Depp was too talented to be a muggle.

One thought on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Review

Leave a Reply

